How she loves

Don’t confuse that black eye
For love
That bloody lip
Was not how she means to kiss you
Those cracked ribs
Don’t show how hard she hugs you
They show how she loves you
Beating you when she’s mad
Each time apologizing
After that second beer
Or that rough day at work
Your body is not
Her punching bag
Stop telling me
“This is how she loves me”
Setting your bones
Sewing your stitches
Wrapping your wrist
At first feeling bad for you
Asking why you stay
Getting to this point
If she kills you
You had it coming,
You had the chance to leave
Time an time again
But you stay
Coming to me crying
Black an blue
Yet all I can do is put the ice on
My eye an say
“She said she’d never hit me”
-dreads

This entry was posted in cleaning out my closet, poetry, Simple stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How she loves

Leave a Reply

